Public
Activity Feed Discussions Blogs Bookmarks Files

Most students developed a disappointment toughs when they find out how much money they will be making post graduation. this sometimes create a negative environment in the classroom.

Alexander,

I understand that this can be a factor, however it is one that is true in many professions and the impetus for striving to advance.

Jae Gruber

By outlining my career path as well as the career paths of fellow instructors I have found that this provides the student with a tangable realistic view of direct mentors' career journeys.

By relating my career path and the paths of my fellow instructors I have found that this provides a tangeable and realistic view of a direct mentor's career journey.

I also work full time in the industry I teach. Each morning I talk about "work last night" the good stuff and the challenging. I feel it helps the teaching seem very real to them. Some times I even ask for "help" such as "what would you have done? I resently had an issue with an employee not showing up on time and I was considering terminating them. It turned out to be a great discussion on how much is too much? The class was actually tougher than I was. I then asked them if I should apply those same rules to the class when they show up late? It was not a popular question......but it did create a lot of thinking.

Ron,

Posing the question "what would you have done" really gets the students to dig deep and contemplate how they would react in certain situations, as well as prompts some excellent discussions. Thank you for sharing your best practice!

Jae Gruber