Public
Activity Feed Discussions Blogs Bookmarks Files

Todays Challenging Students

I currently am an Instructor at a Technical Institute. I feel I am a Guide type instructor, however do feel the challenges of the variety of students taking my courses. They range in age from 17-70. The challenges I face daily reflect basically on the times we live in. Obviously we have all seen the rebelious text messaging, baggy pants, hats on backwards youth which generally are the hardest to influence, but at the same time we are dealing with alot of veterans who have troubles adapting. I personally feel that everyone deserves the best I can give. I emphasize the importance of being professional and having good communication and people skills. I am open and adapt to all learning styles. The first day of the course I try to greet them, walk around and introduce myself and make them feel comfortable within my world. This seems to bring all students closer and allows me to establish protocols and objectives with positive re-enforcement. Is their anything I can do better in these trying times?

Jon, looks to me like you have a great approach. Always come to class prepared and knowledgeable on how current events impact your subject matter. Communicate with your students and find out what they want out of the time you spend together. For some they just want to get by with a minimal effort. I have always replied with how they would feel if I were their employer and wanted to give them minimal pay for their hard work? Find ways to relate their effort to the gains they can make in the workplace.

James Jackson

I often use the technique of relating a students behavior to how it will benefit or not benefit them in the workplace. Most times when a student feels they have done a greater share of the work in a group assignment I ask them if that could possibly detract from their developement of a great work ethic.