Public
Activity Feed Discussions Blogs Bookmarks Files

Dealing with rude students

In recent years, students have become more disrespectful to instructors and fellow classmates. How do you handle this situation?

I'm afraid I'm not very good at it. I think it's best to talk to the student privately if at all possible, but sometimes it's easier to just let it go.
Any advice?

I have dealt with many rude students in my years of teaching, and the best way to deal with them is privately. I ask them what is bothering them, and what can we do to calm the situation down. I also emphasize that rudeness creates a hostile environment, and an employer expects professional behavior, both verbally and physically.

Hi Laurie,
Never let it go! Deal with rudeness immediately and swiftly. Students have to know that you are in control. Give them one warning, and if the rudeness continues, simply remove them from your class. Once students see that you are not playing their behavior will change for the better.
Patricia

Hi Janet,
Do not allow it. Warn the disrespectful student, if the student continues to be disrespectful remove the disrepectful student from your classroom.
Patricia

Laurie,

I totally agree with Patricia. In my experience, when I dealt with the rudeness quickly...and privately...I found an amazing turnaround in the student's behavior. Students are known for testing the teacher. Now it's up to us to pass the test!