Public
Activity Feed Discussions Blogs Bookmarks Files

Late work. case by case or across the board standards.

Im very new to the professional instructor world (4 months) I am having a hard time deciding what would be a better option on the case of late assignments. Case by case can be time consuming and frustrating. However case by case seems to be more fair with situations such as family emergencies, medical reasons etc but a firm late policy for all regardless is fair because these situations arise in the real world and depending on the boss or company, late assignments will be dealt with case by case or a total no go. My questions is this. Is there a fair way to combine the two with learner instructor communication or should that firm line be drawn into the sand?

Hi Peter,
I draw that firm line in the sand. I only accept late assignments in extenuating circumstances with appropriate documentation.

Patricia Scales

Right now if the students miss their tests I give them makeup tests and they need to put the same effort as the other students who took the test for the first time since they do not get the review as the students present get.

Hi Indira,
We have an institution policy on taking tests late. The first day, the student loses 10 points, second, third, and fourth day they lose an additonal 5 points each day, after the 4th day, the student receives a 0. We do not have many students taking their test late.

Patricia Scales