Public
Activity Feed Discussions Blogs Bookmarks Files

Managing Adult Learners

Sometimes upon ones' own personal reflection, I ask how will this subject or topic relate to a specific profession, i.e. Physics to become a Radiographer. Upon being advised by a career services representative and/or the instructor, they can provide an informed reasoning as for its application to that specific profession or subject. As an instructor, it is my duty to fully inform my students as to the relevance of any subjects/topics in order to make the student more informed. This is just one of many techniques such as becoming a better listener and providing insightfull verbal/nonverbal cues.

Hi Kerry,
When students can make the connection how the course applies to the real word, they have more of interest in the course, and they are excited about learning.

Patricia Scales

As a math teacher, I also try to state places where math might be used in their fields of study. I find that students can still get frustrated because there are some parts of the course that are not directly applicable to them. I try to mention critical thinking skills, technical reading and following instructions, but those don't seem concrete enough for some students.

Hi Chad,
You may want to get with other colleagues to find out if they have more concrete ideas as to why students need to know a particular concept.

Patricia Scales

I teach on the "other side" where I always try and relate general education objectives to the specialized, career oriented material I am presenting. With adult learners sometimes they have a great deal of anxiety about attempting something, like math, that they haven't really focused on for some time. I also believe it is important that students understand how all of the pieces of their education fit together to get them to the career goals they are trying to reach.

Hi Lee,