Public
Activity Feed Discussions Blogs Bookmarks Files

As instructors, what advice would you give to an administrator about approaching retention issues with instructors?

I am an administrator and an instructor so I understand the challenges of dealing with some students, but what the students need is for the instructors/adminstrative staff to understand how important their demeanor -- their body language and tone of voice are in managing a positive, productive class.

It is not enough to do a great job teaching. The students have to want to attend a class and some teachers can be so intimidating that the confidence of the student is eroded.

The student then does not wish to attend a class like that and then finally, the student may decide to withdraw.

These issues have been discussed as a result of student evaluations of staff members. There has been some improvement, but not enough.

Hi Joyce,
You make a number of very good points about faculty behavior. Instructors need to develop two things with their students, respect and rapport. As you say teaching is only part of instruction. Hopefully you can get these faculty members to relax and so their human side a bit. This will go a long way in helping them gain the respect of their students. This is why teachers need to review ever so often the 3 M model of teachers as models, managers and motivators. This will help to keep the students in the program and the teachers will enjoy their work more. Teaching is not the place to be if you don't have patience and don't like people, but we all know that already, we just have to remind folks of this ever so often.
Gary

the information is well orginized and clear