Public
Activity Feed Discussions Blogs Bookmarks Files

Being Successful in College

What are some ways you can help students to overcome their fear of not being successful in their college work?

As the instructor it is my responsibility to clearly define for the students the goals, objectives and course structure of the class. By clearly discussing the path to the outcomes that students need to present, they understand the process and the means to accomplish what they need in the class. Understanding tends to limit the fear.

As an instructor, I like to do some sort of ice breaker at the beginning of a new course so that I can get to know the students and their goals. I use the information they provide to direct some of my lecture or classroom projects. For example, if many of my students want to be stylists, I will try and relate a business class segment to their desired career. I give the examples of how the course may be helpful in the future.
The ice breaker also allows them to create a bond or familiarity with others interested in similar paths. The bonds can equal study groups and support teams.

I agree Diana, understanding the course objective or expected outcome makes success visible. They can then look for the light at the end of the course.

You can provide examples of student success stories, especially those students who came in at a disadvantage.
Let them know the objectives, goals and assignments. Perhaps you can provide an example of an assignment or project that was completed to standard.

Wendy,
Like the way you open a new course because you are increasing the value of the course to them via the explanation of how their efforts will enhance their success in their careers.
Gary

Gary Meers, Ed.D.

Kent,
All of these elements can be good motivators for students as you start off a new course. You are helping them to see they did make a good decision to go on to school and create a future for themselves.
Gary

Gary Meers, Ed.D.