Public
Activity Feed Discussions Blogs Bookmarks Files

Students of various age groups and experiences

I am an experienced instructor, I have found it difficult to instructs of various age groups and experiences. Some of my students are right out of High School and then you have the 40 year olds. When communicating with them and setting the class rules. I have found my younger students to be more defiant. They do not expect to be held accountable. Also I have students who are already working in the healthcare field but are continuing their education for promotions. with these students, they challenge you on a regular basis and at times gets a little frustrating. What is the best way to work with these different groups?

Hi Patricia,
This is a tough but common problem for instructors. I have had success with mixing the groups. I put the students in learning groups to work on various projects or activities. The mixing of the various age and experience groups help to bring a leveling effect to the class.
By letting the students self select themselves into their peer groups they feed off of each other. Mixing forces them to work with others that are not their peers in terms of age and experience. They hold each other accountable within the groups.
Gary

Hi Gary,
Have you found that it also helps to either mix learning styles within the groups or have similiar learning styles?

Hi Steve,