Public
Activity Feed Discussions Blogs Bookmarks Files

Therese,

I think including current events related to the subject matter is exceedingly important.

Jeffrey Schillinger

Adult learners are ready to learn. They have the realization that learning is what they need to do, they understand why they need to study. I think this is an important motivation factor. Suguna

I've been interacting with adult learners for almost 20 years, as an adjunct faculty, full-time faculty and an administrator. It's been my experience (anecdotally) that they are very focused on developing skills that will prepare them for entry level employment in a specific career. This is especially true with my students who have returned to college due to a recent lay-off. I've had a few who are currently employed and want to enhance their skills, but not many. Now as an administrator, I'm surprised at the number of students age 40 and beyond who are in college. They, too, are motivated by future employment opportunities in careers that are of interest to them.

Gerald,

Thank you for this post. Are there any clear differences between 40 year old learners and 30 year old learners?

Jeffrey Schillinger

I believe everyone comes for a different reason and it is our job to find that out so that we can help them reach their goal or give them alternatives.

I do agree and hae seen it in regards to nursing that the older student is more involved and want to learn where the younger expect to be spoon fed. Of course this isn't always the case.

It is interesting to know how each of our adult learners think what brought them back to school. I think as instructors we should be sensitive to their feelings and support them appropriately.