Public
Activity Feed Discussions Blogs Bookmarks Files

Making Instruction Relevant

How might adult learner needs and expectations be a basis or foundation to relevant instruction? What are some specific ways (strategies or methodologies) that you can make your instructional content and delivery relevant to student expectations?

In making my instructional content and delivery relevant to student expectations I always want to affirm that human beings need to have something to do; someone to love and something to look forward to.

I always make it a point to "get to know" a student before attempting to educate them. I find this type of "tutoring" is the most effective way to help a student and their particular area of interest. In essence, "I need to know what they need to know". As an art instructor I pretest by having them sketch what they like from their head without my critique or direction. This simple drawing contains much information in it such as skill level, interests, work habits, etc.
Thanks, Dorian

Hi Dorian,
Good idea and a great way to use your subject area as a means to get to know your students. Instead of using an "icebreaker" in your class you are using an "artbreaker" as a means of getting to know your students.
Gary

I teach English at a business college, so students often don't see the relevance of my courses. I try to give them real world scenarios and examples of how my courses will play a role in their careers. For example, I'll explain that they need to know the grammar so that they can speak and write correctly as an educated person should.

Hi Kim,
Three words reflect what you are trying to get across to your students. Relevancy, relevancy, relevancy. If they can see application to what they are learning and how it will benefit them they will stay engaged. Keep up the good work.
Gary