Public
Activity Feed Discussions Blogs Bookmarks Files

Would love to say Easy, but even as an instructor in a Nursing Program students don't always see the relevancy of the material. So getting buy-in is sometimes a task that must be achieved.

Mark,
It is critical to get buy-in from students and you have spoken as an experienced educator when you say it can be a challenge in even high interest areas like nursing. It is fun to work at being creative in getting students to buy-in to the course content and seeing them progress in their learning.
Gary

One great tool is student feedback I am always tweeking my del methoed based on student evals that are given out at the end of each course

Kerry,
We need to always be seeking feedback for improvement. The more we listen the more accurately we can improve in all areas of our teaching.
Gary

As a culinary school instructor, my students expect to leave class each day having learned an effective way to prepare restaurant quality food. My method for making the content relevant is to first discuss with them the fact that they will be expected to know how to prepare these things by the chef they are working for (or by the customers who will be ordering and eating their food), then I demonstrate to them how to prepare a certain recipe. Immediately following my demonstration, my students go into a kitchen classroom and prepare the recipe on their own. I taste the results, and offer constructive criticism to each student on things they did well, and things they can improve on the next time around. I believe this strategy effectively meets the students' needs and expectations.

Students appreciate having a heads up on what they will face once they enter the work force. I find video clips which mirror authentic situations and call upon the learner to use their newly acquired information create relevancy.

Mike,