Public
Activity Feed Discussions Blogs Bookmarks Files

Carol,
So true. Students like variety and change of pace in their learning opportunities. By using different venues of delivery you are offering the different ways of processing information and storing it in their minds.
Gary

Dr. Gary Meers

Understanding multiple intelligence is important because it allows instructors to tailor their teaching to the needs of the class. For example, if most of the class are visual learners, it makes more sense create lectures that appeal to students who are visual learners.

I am very interested in trying to identify my student's intelligences. I think that if I were to put groups together of like-minded individuals, that, they would really be able to make an effective stimulus for one another.

Rebecca,
Based upon the research I have been doing in multiple intelligences for the past 25 years this is true. I would suggest you visit some of the websites on multiple intelligences to gain additional insight in this area. I will be glad to communicate with you further on MI assessments and their applications. Just let me know.
Gary

Dr. Gary Meers

Understanding that students process information and retain it differently, helps you to plan lessons, and lab time so that all these areas are used. In careful observation of how the students act, or react to different activities, you can hone your activities so that they best serve your students needs.

almost always try to identify the different types of intelligence of each student in the class, there are methods we have learned in this course, then try to integrate and use them for the purpose of the class that is They learn.

In some ways, one may be more cautious in his or her approach to assembling groups. Clumping too many of the "same type of learner" may produce a negative effect. I have found suprises in leadership qualities by mixing groups.

Joseph,