Public
Activity Feed Discussions Blogs Bookmarks Files

life experience and work related examples in the classroom

in all of my years experience I can think of no better way to learn that by example. hearing stories from instructos in the past and now relating as an instructor myself makes me realize how well this relationship helps on a situation to situation experience

Greetings Candis!

Learning by example has been such a great instructor! Not only do we lead by example, but the real life experiences that are shared in a classroom environment can mean the difference between learning a concept or not learning.

Keep up the good work!

Jane Davis
ED106 Facilitator

I agree. I try to find ways of connecting experiences students have had with what we are teaching. I enjoy seeing when they grasp the concepts and how it can benefit them.

When lecturing on certain chapters, I always interact with the student, about sharing their experience with different topics.

I like to tell stories. I tell them that I don't tell stories to just talk - usually there is something to learn from it. They may encounter the same thing in the field, and the story may help them to know what is going on.

Greetings June!

Experience is the best teaching and having students to share those experiences enhances their own learning. It also helps those less experienced students have a better understanding of the work place.

Keep up the good work!

Jane Davis
ED106 Facilitator

Life experience makes you a content expert. Life experience also makes one humble and able to answer the questions that students often have that can't be found in a textbook. As an instructor it makes you relatable, entertaining and worth coming to class to enrich the experience of learning.

yes. connecting to life experiences is very beneficial. Students get a better understanding of the material and store it away as long term memory instead of short term for a quix/exam

Hi Mary!