Public
Activity Feed Discussions Blogs Bookmarks Files

Delivering with real world experience

Even though I'm new at the teaching experience and still trying to find the best way to relate the information to them, nothing takes the place of having real world experience in your field. It's only my second semester as a teacher but I bring in over 25 years of experience and knowledge in my chosen field. A lot of times students can relate more with real life scenarios than just examples in the text books. This also tends to motivate their curiousity about learning more about the subjest.

Hi Randy,
Your life experiences give you respect and attention from your students. This will go a long way with them. They know you have earned your living in the field so you know of what you speak.
Gary

I completely agree with you. The school of hard knocks has many great lessons. I find that you can gain a lot of ground when you relate something in your own life that pertains to the subject matter. It also helps the students believe that you are not that far removed from the "real world". True credibility.

I find that relating real-world experience definitely makes the classroom come alive! I usually bring in actual examples of my prior or even current work. I volunteer for an organization that needed help with writing their mission statement. Recently, I had one of my classes tackle this challenge and found that the students really enjoyed the exercise. They were even competitive with one another which made it fun. It got me to thinking about how many organizations--especially non-profit organizations need extra help that a class can provide. I am in the process of identifying some real life opportunities with several organizations.