Public
Activity Feed Discussions Blogs Bookmarks Files

Motivation...something i wish more instructors i have seen would use

From my experiences as a trainer, i have seen many contract trainers just come in and teach and deliver a very BORING class. Boring as in just coming in and doing whats required as far as delivering course material. I guess for some instructors, they really dont care if the students are learning/enjoying what they are being taught, but it would drive me nuts to know that a student thought my classes were boring and i was uninspiring...

My keys for motivation:

1. Encouragement: always keep your students postively reinforced.

2. Mentorship: make these students think "man, i wanna be like this guy."

3. Energy: Come in charged and ready to go..if you're not pumped, your students sure wont be either. Maybe a Redbull before class :)

Hi Eddie,
Thank you for your comments about motivation. Always keep the thought that you shared about feeling bad if you thought your students were being bored by your lectures. This thought will help you to continued your professional development.
Gary

Motivation: for both the students and the instructor. Motivation has as it basis some keys: WIIFM (what's in it for me), Am I capable of learning, Am I capable of doing (being successful):