Public
Activity Feed Discussions Blogs Bookmarks Files

Instructor's Age

I have to admit I am a relatively young instructor (22) and usually my students never really gave this matter importance, nor had realized their instructor was half their age. In the last course I taught, the students figured out my age and it was an ackward situation... For some reason, I had the impression they were not taking me as seriously as in the first day of class. Can you provide me some advice to counter this situation?

Hi Carlos:
Instructor's age is not a problem at all. Just follow the steps;
#1. Don't discuss your personal affairs with the students and donot act as a pal.

#2. Be prepared for the class, show your mastery.

#3. Your lecture should reflect the course content and should be pallatable for the students.

#4. Select the proper methods and media.

HI Carolos,
As a young instructor it is up to you to establish that you are in control of the learning environment. If you don't take charge you students will and that will lead to a very long training phase for you. You can set the ground rules the first day, even though the students may not take you as serious as they should the first day. The key is how serious they take you the second day and all the days after that. You are the expert in the classroom and you are going to share with them your knowledge. You need to conduct yourself in such a way as to make sure there is no misunderstanding as to your status in the classroom. This is not to say you have to be overly harsh, just fair and consistent.
Through illustrations you can show your students that you have the knowledge base to be their instructor.
Gary