Public
Activity Feed Discussions Blogs Bookmarks Files

Power Points Verses Writting On The Board

I am a fairly new instructor. I have always taught from power points with short videos to keep the students attention. I thought about changing to only teach by using the white board. After this lesson I am no longer sure about that. The reason im considering the change is I have a problem with the student getting sleepy as soon as the lights go off. Any Suggestions!!!!

Don't turn the lights out.  Most projectors work with lights on.  May want to only turn some off.  The youngest ones are from a tech environment (smart phones, ipads, ipods and "i" everything).  Short videos help but I also do use the marker board especially to outline what their notes should be from the video if they were supposed to be taking notes.

Never been a big fan of power points. Students stare at the screen and forget you're there. I use the white board to clarify my lecture material. In my hands-on classes, I put the days' activities on the board prior to start of class.

I have PowerPoint ready for students to download before the class.

It helps them to 1) prepare for the class, 2)get an overall view of the topic and 3)helps them on taking notes.

Yes I agree with Robert Walker, Don't Turn the lights out and the short videos match the short attention spans of the "i" generation! I also post all of the power points for the students to access anytime they want and I concentrate on helping them on their projects when I am in class with them. I found that they need help with their homework and their projects.  I let them read what is on the power points on their own. I highlight the important points that need to be shared with them. I try to keep them engaged when they are in class instead of just reading the power point presentations.