Public
Activity Feed Discussions Blogs Bookmarks Files

responsibility of the institution

I believe the responsibility should be a "team effort". I sometimes find people like to pass the blame solely on the instructors, and this just isn't the case.

You're right, Cynthia. Blame cannot be placed solely on any one part of the organization. What three actions do you plan to take in the next 30 days to help people in your organization understand that?

I agree that retention needs to be a team project. I think that different departments have different goals and until all departments meet together on a regular basis to discuss this issue, the "blame" game will continue. Admissions, Financial Aid, Employment Assistance and the front office all need to work together instead of adopting the attitude "I did MY part".

As a teacher, I can do only so much in the time that I have with the students; and instruction is my main goal. I can encourage and cajole, but students also need to own their problems and learn to address them in a constructive manner.

On point, Cathe. Do you have any specific actions planned for the next month to help students understand their responsibilities?

I agree. The administrative staff sees the student quite a bit at the beginning of the process. However, after a student begins classes the instructor sees the student every day. As the instructors sees potential problems there should be a discussion among key personnel, directors, counselors, etc. Once a situation has been brought to the fore then the team effort can begin by appropiate staff supporting the instructors efforts to reach the student and refocus the students attention on their educational goals.

A good plan, Teresa. What can you do to bring it to fruition?