Public
Activity Feed Discussions Blogs Bookmarks Files

How do you know which problems/topics you shouldn't help a student with.

Good question, John. Does your school have any guidelines? What areas do you feel should be off limits?

By identifying the objectives of a plan, one must concentrate in satisfying it with the student through informational delivery. If a problem pops up as presented by the student, by referring back to the list of objectives, and after identifying that it is not essential or important to resolve, that is a guide to know when a presented issue is not to be resolved .

What plan are you referring to, Paul? How do you deal with a student who has a non-classroom problem that might result in his withdrawal if unaddressed?

I think this is an interesting question. I work as a student affairs advisor but I am not a licensed counselor. After I find out what the student issue really is, I decide on whether I can offer assistance or refer them to someone else. For academic issues, time management issues and other related areas I can offer some options to consider and also refer them to read more online for tips on how to better handle their classes. When personal issues come up such as family problems, domestic abuse, mental health and physical problems and other personal financial or legal issues arise, I offer suggestions to seek professional services to assist them. Our college has contracted with a third party counseling and resource service that we can refer students to. This is a confidential service for students and I don't hear back about whether they contacted them. Many students have responded to me after using this service and have found it helpful. Before we contracted this service, it was sometimes tempting to try to assist with personal issues, but I have found it is better for the student, myself and the institution not to but offer as much support and encouragement to them to solve their problems with outside assistance. I encourage