Public
Activity Feed Discussions Blogs Bookmarks Files

How do we know where to draw the line when dealing with Student issues?

There are times when students come to you with personal issues totally unrelated to school. I have always done my best to help the student to be solution oriented not problem focused. I would never turn a student away telling them, "that is not my problem" but I am not sure how involved I should become?

If you care about student success, it's very difficult not to get involved students in ways that extend beyond the classroom, April. Please tell us more about how you stay solution oriented. Does your school have a formalized support system that staff and faculty can use to address these types of issues?

April, I too have faced similar situations. Since I am fairly new in my position as an academic counselor I always follow up with my director. I had a couple of situations this spring that had me " in over my head". I quickly followed up with people on campus that could support my student with their special needs.

Nancy, as you gain experience in working with students you will also gain confidence in knowing how to work with students and when to make referrals. It is important to realize when you are “in over your head” and seek help. Trying to handle everything can lead to real problems, including unwelcome exposure to liability if things turn bad. Does your school have a formalized training program to help advisors recognize when to make referrals?

We had training in opening of the year, which is why I knew I was in over my head. One of my problemswas I did not know the rest of the staff responsibilities well enough to know how to refer students. Now I do have a much better handle on how and when to refer students.