Public
Activity Feed Discussions Blogs Bookmarks Files

Follow up

We don't currently do follow up with our students after they graduate. What is the best way to begin doing this with students? Just creating surveys? What if we want to contact older students, is that appropriate if they have not been contacted in a long time?

HI Elizabeth
It's always the right time to contact your grads. We suggest an emailing to everyone giving them an update about your school and perhaps courses they would be interested in. The first email and also snail mail will help to clean the list and hopefully get you some updated info. Then we suggest following grads and leads up every month. Create an online newsletter with valuable information about your industry, programs, employment, etc. You have a lot of opportunities for increased enrollment and more when you stay in contact with grads. Best wishes, Susan

I'm new in this position, so I have been contacting former graduates to inform them of my new status and to explain that even though my job is new, we still offer Lifetime Job Placement. they seem grateful and appreciate the call from their alma mater.

Great Deborah. The grads can tell you lots of things to include in your career service offerings. Now they can look back and tell you what they wish the school had provided them. They are also a source of people to visit your school, mentor your students, give presentations, and maybe even tell you where job openings are. Lots of opporutunities. They might even enroll in a course. Good idea, Susan