Public
Activity Feed Discussions Blogs Bookmarks Files

Student Relationships and “The Right Candidate"

We have a few representatives coming to our school to host interviews for upcoming grads, graduates and alumni. I am nervous as to how this will pan out because I haven't had the opportunity to meet with each individual. (I am new to the Career along with the students) As with any job posting/opportunity you want to make sure your sending them who they are looking for and not just another one in the bunch. You want the employers to want to come back to you in the future. I do different workshops to get to know the students. I also have asked the teachers for there input on the students/grads and if they would be suitable for the job. So the concern is how do I know if I am sending the right candidate for the job? Do you have any other ideas/tools I can use for this concern?

Hi Deana
You've done a great job of identifying all the issues. So you will easily be able to put solutions in place. Just take each challenge and think of several ways to address it. Perhaps the grad has to complete certain workshops, job interview role plays, do their homework about the company, and demonstrate in other ways that they are prepared for a successful interview and to be a success on the job. Perhaps you need to develop a check list of what to ask the employer before and after the interview and also after the grad has been on the job for a while. Gathering and analyzing information is a way to come up with solutions. So let us know!!! Thanks, Susan

I would make sure to get some information from the employers who are coming as to what jobs they are hiring for and maybe a brief job description for each position. This will give you a heads up, and maybe you can involve your program directors and instructors to suggest who might be the "ideal" candidate.