Public
Activity Feed Discussions Blogs Bookmarks Files

ED106; an eye opener

I especially appreciate the information regarding the five learning disabilities & strategies to address the problem(s).

I am intrigued by the reported incidence of learning disabilities and will have an increased awareness of how to make

the classroom better for all students with the suggestions outlined in this module.

I have a high schooler (international student) from Finland living with me for the school year. She came with very few English speaking and understanding skills - she is getting better every day but currently has a "D" in Language Arts so far this term. Hope to find ways to turn that around. Any ideas?

Try making her flash cards. Cut pictures out of magazines and teach her the English word for it.

@Faith Womack I assume your exchange student is taking a number of courses.  As a science teacher, I can help a little in that area.  I tell my students to go to websites geared toward children.  Just use a search engine and type in the subject area and the term "kids" or "children".  Some sites I have directed students to include Chem4kids and Biology4kids.  This particular site actually has several different areas for different subjects.  The language used is simpler, so students can get the gist of more complex concepts.  Then the student can read the textbook and hopefully pick up more information.  Encourage the student to look at the pictures, diagrams and charts in the textbook.  These suggestions are also great for any student who struggles with reading. 

I also encouraged my ESL students to look up the subject area on the internet in their native language.  I know they are supposed to be learning English, but they cannot progress in other subjects if they don't understand the concepts being presented.  They just fall further and further behind.  They have to take the tests in English, so they  must figure out how to translate it and at least learn some keywords.