Public
Activity Feed Discussions Blogs Bookmarks Files

Referring disabled students who have questions

I believe that even though I am an instructor and not an admission's rep, I do the best job at referring students to the appropriate offices. It simply makes sense to refer disabled students to to the appropriate offices if they have questions. This way misleading or untrue statements never exit my lips. I became aware that it was in my best interest to refer students (or parents) to the appropriate offices during my time in the Office of the Provost at my former institution. Once inaccurate information gets out, it's hard to reign it in. Helping any student, including disable students, is enhanced by referring them to the adequate offices and not running the risk of giving inaccurate information.

Samara,
You are right. The problem is only made worse when the information is given with the best of intentions but ends up being misleading.

Dr. Jane Jarrow

At the institution I was at before we were taught that we were to immediately get in touch with an ADA Officer when a student disclosed a disability. I worked in an online setting and never saw my students so unless they advised me of their disability, I wouldn't know unless it was obvious in their communication with me. Even then, if they did not disclose a disability, I wasn't able to share my concern with an officer. Often this wouldn't come up until they were in class and struggling (not everyone struggled).

Erenne ,