Public
Activity Feed Discussions Blogs Bookmarks Files

Legal Obligations and Opportunities

This module is very helpful because it talks about a lot of stuff. The key is to allow students to reach their potential on what they want to pursue in their career. From my experience, I have autism and I had an accomdation that was extended test time on my tests. The accomdation helped me out tremendously because I could focus more on the tests instead of rushing through to get in time. Once I graduated from college, I knew I reached my potential and I proved to myself that you know what just because I have a disabiltiy, it does not mean I am limited to what I can do. Every college and univeristy should have an office of disability service so that way it would make the students with disabilities lives much easier and they can get their accomdations that they need.

James,
You have just articulated EXACTLY why extended time is often an appropriate accommodation for students with disabilities -- so that the student can focus on the content of the test, instead of on the clock!

Dr. Jane Jarrow

I have had students in my class before with ADHD. Even though they did not require extra time on their test, they were often very disruptive in class and made teaching the other students more difficult than it would have otherwise been. So I can at least somewhat empathize with those with disabilities. Does anyone have any tips on dealing w/ students w/ ADHD?

Michael,
The best I can suggest is that you not be intimidated by the student's "disabled" status. Students are still responsible for following an acceptable code of conduct. If they don't, you have every right to impose the same sanctions you impose on any other student who engages in disruptive behavior.

Dr. Jane Jarrow