Public
Activity Feed Discussions Blogs Bookmarks Files

sensitivity

When I am giving feedback I view the body language of the person to become sensitive to how they are accepting or rejecting my criticism.

Janet that's a great idea, when I give feed back (I am a culinary instructor) I make my students taste the food with me, as they eat I discuss things like mouth feel, flavor, seasoning, and temperature. This enables the student to not only understand what they can improve on they relate the feed back to how they went right or wrong.
great post!

I teach culinary arts to my students and when giving feedback students can be very sensitive to everything I have to say to them. One reason is because they put their heart in soul into their dishes and when you taste that it needs more salt, could be cooked longer, have a neater presentation, etc you might as well have thrown it in the trash with the looks you get back. I use the sandwich technique. I start with a positive, negative and end with a positive. No matter what they should be walking away with at least 2 positive facts and 1 negative to work on, but in all they seem to take the critiques much better than, "needs salt, next!"

Janet,

I agree that body language speaks volumes in relation to feedback. Defensive mannerisms such as crossed arms and lowered heads call for a different approach than when someone is bright-eyed and visibly eager to hear commentary on their performance.

Kathleen

Janet, observing a persons body language is a true identifer on if that person is receptive to your input. The trick is if you can respond to the persons body language in a positive manner when it might not be a positive situation.
Peter

I agree with that; every Chef here does their best with these tricky student situations/issues that each of us experience on a regular basis.