Public
Activity Feed Discussions Blogs Bookmarks Files

Delegating to your staff

I was hoping to get some pointer's on how I can become better about delegating tasks to my staff? I am new to my Program Director position and I find that I am having problems delegating to my team. Your help in this matter would be greatly appreciated.

Pam

Pamela,
I would encourage you to take a good,honest look at your tasks (perhaps with someone else) & try to determine what you should be doing & what others on your team can do. Along with this, are there any tasks that would help develop your team in their skills & help them achieve their goals in a faster way?

Dr. Ryan Meers

Dr. Meers,

Thank you for your suggestion about having someone else look at my tasks and help me to see what I can do to enable my instructors to be more assertive and meet with them to see what they feel are their strengths and weaknesses. I guess the issue comes down to time. They are currently working 34 hours in the classroom and that does not include their prep time. Would I be able to work that into part of their day as we already have several mandatory meetings we must attend weekly and monthly meetings, so being overwhelmed does not help with things, any helpful hints would be welcomed, thank you!

Pam

Pamela,
unfortunately this is the great problem of many, especially in education. One suggestion I could make is to look at the non-mandatory meetings & determine if any of these can be cut out, can the information be handled through email, etc? I try to look for time-savers anywhere possible.

Dr. Ryan Meers

I think you should delegate certain tasks that you know some of your staff is good at doing to take the load off yourself.

cindy,
I completely agree with you. In addition I encourage managers to make sure that we are being clear with our staff as to why we are delegating certain tasks to them & we follow up to make sure they are doing well & learning, growing, etc.

Dr. Ryan Meers

Cindy,