Public
Activity Feed Discussions Blogs Bookmarks Files

Using texting

I am an older instructor and do not like texting. However I find I can get student to respond better when I text them as opposed to calling them.

Jim,

You're not "older" - you "seasoned." ;-) My students do text more than email Thanks!

Hello Jim,

I have tried using texting as a form of communication with my students and have received minimal responses. Even though I expect most students to respond via text, I have been surprised with the lack of use. Most of my students respond favorably via email. As we have learned in Module 2, an instructor has to choose which communication is best. My students are great about letting me know the best ways to communicate with them and I try to use those methods as often as possible.

Janelle and Jim,

Thanks for continuing the conversation. That's interesting and the exact opposite response many of my peers have had. Have you tried using Remind 101? If students sign up, you can send one text and it goes to many students. It's just a time saver.

I am dealing with students in externships. Most prefer text due to their work schedules. It allows them to respond when it is convenient or feasible for them. I work a full-time job as well and find it works well for me too! I ask the students at the beginning of the course which mode they prefer and go with that unless they become unresponsive.

Alicia,

Do you use Remind 101 (it's actually just called Remind now)? You can open an account, have students sign up and then send one message to several students and they receive it as a text. Works for me.

Hi Jim,
This is an interesting thread.