Public
Activity Feed Discussions Blogs Bookmarks Files

Evaluating individual contributions to a group project

As an Instructor, I find group projects particularly difficult. Many times, one or two students within the group take on a majority, if not all of the work. How do we assess the comprehension & contribution of individual students? Assigning a single grade for each of the group members does not seem fair nor is it reflective of individual student ability. Will mandatory chat sessions resolve this issue? Is that enough?

Belinda:
I do not believe mandatory Chat sessions will enhance or promote participation in group projects. There are two measures you can take to assess the comprehension and contribution of individual students.

1. In a group project, require individual students to submit their individual contributions to you for grading.

2. In additiomn to 1 in the above, assign individual projects that have to be submitted for grading.
Satrohan

Yes, I think mandatory chat session will resolve this issue. The instructor can assess and evaluate each student's participation and assign grade accordingly.

Fatmata:
Mandatory Chat sessions will be successful to the degree that your students are able to participate as per their scheduled times.
Satrohan

Another way could be to ask each member of the group to evaluate each other for their contributions to the group proyect.

Fernando:
Some Instructors adopt this strategy; however, they do not place high emphasis on these ratings when they assign the final grade. In my opinion, Instructors must exercise and place emphasis on their own judgment based on measureable and objective criteria when they assess the contributions of individual students who participate in Group Projects.