Public
Activity Feed Discussions Blogs Bookmarks Files

Setting The Right Tone -

I am Program Chair for a new Program. Hospitality and Restaurant Management (HRM) My goal is to “set the right tone” early in the course so students know what to expect and get a feel that they are supported.

To do this we have created a intro class that will discuss strategies for online learning. We have grated a “training room” that contains an orientation, resources, and a profile of the Online Team.

What else can we be doing to set the tone and give the message to students that they need to meet expectations and that they have a variety of resources available to them?

I am currently an online instructor in a Therapeutic Massage program. Yes, you read that right - online massage. I teach the theory and clinical part of the course online.

One way that we use to let the students know that they are supported and accountable, is to call them to introduce ourselves over the phone. Each week, we call or email the students to let them know that we are paying attention to them on an individual basis.

This technique has a few benefits. First, the student feels a connection to a voice, (which in the virtual world equates with a human being). Once this connection is made, the student may be more likely to be accountable for the requirements of the course, because they know that someone will be calling and following up with them.

Secondly, the misconceptions that sometimes occur because of the lack of intonation in the electronic word, can be avoided because each party is hearing the other's words and inflection. Additionally, there is no delay in response when a question is asked or a comment is made.