Public
Activity Feed Discussions Blogs Bookmarks Files

LECTURES v. CHATS

I have been teaching for about seven years now and I have found it to be a great challenge to adapt my traditional teaching methods to online methods.

Of particular note is the live chat session. The main concern I have here is that the communication is more or less one way in the sense that my voice is the only one heard. With the software that I use, students are able to type a message to me or otherwise participate in side conversations via IM-style messages.

To be honest, I really don't like this since it removes the primary form of communication: speech. Many students get frustrated with this, especially the slower typists.

So the question now becomes: how can we adapt our methods to more strongly encourage not only participation, but learner satisfaction knowing that they can actually contribute to the conversation?

One method I have found to be particularly helpful is to email my students the PowerPoint file BEFORE the live session. This gives them the opportunity to preview information and otherwise prepare questions for any particular point during the live session. I have asked my students about this and it seems as though they greatly enjoy this method.

Chats are difficult, and I have noticed people say all sorts of things that they never going to say in a real class setting.