Public
Activity Feed Discussions Blogs Bookmarks Files

Finding Your Frame of Mind

What are your results from the 60-second assessment question? Which of these is your favorite frame of mind? Briefly discuss the difference between learning in your favorite mode (easiest) versus your least favorite (hardest) mode.

I believe I am somewhere between Rainbow & Touchy. (I often guide my students hands during trimming procedures in our lab. I find that actually guiding them takes some of their apprehension away, at least for a moment.)
I can not relate to Loner, so this would be a great challenge for me to be "self taught."
I appreciate a demonstration as well as physical guidance, in reference to lab skills.

Lisa, these learners can follow very detailed instructions all by themselves. it is indeed a challenge for all of us who teach.

Michele Deck

I am a Rainbow frame of mind. I am not the Integer! Funny how so many people do not like math!

I saw images and reflected on actions so I guess I would be a combination of visual and kinesthetic.
Best example I can give is from myself: in that I have always seemed to do well with things like writing, reading, Right-brain functions; yet I wanted to go into the medical field as well and found math, chemistry, memorization. Left-brain learning difficult.
So like that, learning in different modalities other than one is used to, or more comfortable with is possible but tends to be more difficult. By incorporating those easier modalities to difficult subjects a compromise can be met and learning can become easier.

Gordon, I'm so gald you have shared your personal experience of learning, it puts you in tune with some students who learn in diverse ways. That is a plus for both you and them.

Michele Deck