Public
Activity Feed Discussions Blogs Bookmarks Files

Critical Thinking vs. Common Sense

Hello Everyone:
My name is Hudson and I'm an instructor in a VN program. I have taught both clinical and didactic, but currently I'm only in the clinical setting.

One of the challenges I encounter in clinical is getting some students to use common sense. I believe there must be a foundation of common sense before one can develop critical thinking.

For example, a former student was walking down the hallway of our clinical site. I was following behind her, but she didn't know I was there. She was carrying a cup of coffee to a patient's room (not her assigned patient). As she passed her assigned patient's room, I could hear the patient yelling "Help! Help!"

The student didn't stop. She kept going down the hallway and delivered the cup of coffee.

Once I checked on the patient and made sure she was okay, I took the student aside and asked her if she had heard her patient calling for help. She said yes, and I asked her why she didn't stop to check on her patient. She gave me a confused look and said, "So, I shouldn't deliver the coffee?"

We then had a conversation about appropriate priorities of care and which task would be more important.

I wasn't sure what else to say to the student. I felt the correct choice was obvious, but maybe I'm missing something.

Hudson, thank you for sharing this story. We can't assume that learners know what a priority is at first(or anything else). Some do and some don't. Keep at it!

Michele Deck