Public
Activity Feed Discussions Blogs Bookmarks Files

Service Learning Value

What do you see as being the greatest value students receive from participating in service learning?

Students get to apply the skills they have learned in classes and enhance their knowledge and experience.

Students get real life experience to apply the skills they have learned in class. It also gives them an outlet for meaningful contribution to their community.

Hi Gina.

Good point. We have seen our students grow each term they were able to participate in a service-learning activity. Many reported that it was the first time they had ever "helped" their community.

Trent Bartholomew

I feel they gain more than just experience and knowledge...they actually gain a sense of responsibility, respect from the community and most importantly they practice those hard to teach soft-skills. I have been coordinating service learning events for 3 years now and I am blown away by the accomplishments of the students during an event. Not only do they learn but they are actually having fun. Some students after graduation will contact me when seasonal events roll back around just to participate again.

Its good for smart students to participate in most of the campus activities. That will help them to accomplish their goal for the job they want.

Dear Carey,

I am pleased that you mentioned that students actually had fun on their SL event. This is too often an overlooked feature and one that can ease fears when one tries to promote SL events.

Trent Bartholomew

Application of skills and knowledge is only one aspect of service learning. I think students learn much more about themselves and the people they work with, the individuals to whom they provide the service, and the people close to the student's personal life as well.