Public
Activity Feed Discussions Blogs Bookmarks Files

Gen X vs. Gen Y

I see pretty great differences between Gen X vs. Gen Y. The Gen Y person seems to be more entitled and not as hard working as Gen X. Gen X'ers seem to be doers. There is most certainly a difference in the classroom environment. I've seen this in almost every class cohort.

This is a great topic! As a Gen X instructor, I had two working parents and the responsibility of "doing" for myself- which transferred into a self sufficient attitude. I see more hand holding required with some of my Gen Y students...makes perfect sense!

Tara ,
I agree with you & I think some of this attitude is seen even in their lack of pursuing all to the end. I have many Gen Y students who ask "what's the minimum" rather than really stretching themselves.

Ryan Meers, Ph.D.

As a Gen. X'r myself, I do see a substantial difference between the classroom ethics, and overall moral of the Gen X vs. Gen. Y..

My brother is 11 yrs younger than I, and it seems this generation (Y) needs more of a hand hug to self fulfill and to be completely reassured in their selves and their work.

I agree with you completely- I am a Gen X'r and all of the younger students in my classes feel they should get some sort of commendation even if they are not performing as well as others in the class.

Tara, in my classroom I even see the parents of Gen Y students still doing the hand holding and they are in college. I am no longer shocked when I get a call from a parent regarding class work, absences, etc. Much different than the veteran and Gen X students.

Not so much in the career college where I teach now, but in the community college where I taught before, I saw an awful lot of hand-holding of the students. The college was afraid to let them fail because the administration feared retribution from parents, law suits, students dropping out, and/or the college getting a bad rep to being tough.