Public
Activity Feed Discussions Blogs Bookmarks Files

Disability right to know

I am a collage instructor of a heavy industrial machine class I have to work with students with all kinds of accommodations and disabilities I see a lot of vets who got injured overseas It is an honor help people learn no matter what the disability is . Recently I have been told that we will have students with support dogs in our school. My issue is that we are not told at all what the dog is there for and what special circumstances might arise I am worried about the dog being a distraction for all the students especially in the lab. I understand the need for confidentiality however I feel unprepared to deal properly with this disability

Chuck,
I can't tell whether you are more worried about the students or about the dogs, but either way I think you may be worrying unnecessarily. Any time you have someone with a service dog in your classroom/lab with you, there is one very good question that you can ask as a springboard for further (if necessary) conversation. Ask "what service or task is the dog trained to do for you?" If the student asks why you want to know, you can simply explain that you want to make sure that you don't do anything in the class that would interfere with the dog's "responsibilities", and at the same time you want to make sure that the dog is not in any danger while in the class/lab. As to the issue of distraction -- the dog should be under the control of the user at all times. As such, it should NOT be engaged in activities that would distract for other students. We are not talking about small, restless little dogs who yap a lot -- we are talking about big, well-trained animals that should be able to be present without being intrusive.

Dr. Jane Jarrow