Public
Activity Feed Discussions Blogs Bookmarks Files

Making Adjustments

I have been teaching at a technical school for the last seven years and during that time I have worked with numerous students with disabilities and accommodation plans made for each student, which is within our preview as a technical school, we do make slight modifications to the curriculum but we do not change the outcome or expectations for the students.

When I do make modifications for accommodations I have found that the rest of the students work well with the changes too, not just students with disabilities, it also gives us instructors challenges to change the way we deliver our day to day instruction/classes so everyone learns together for a more productive group and better outcomes overall.

Billy,
You have hit on one of the little secrets that folks in disability services have known for a long time. Some of the things that are NECESSARY to do for a student with a disability (as an accommodation) are also good teaching practice, and the strategies work well for all students. Bravo!

Dr. Jane Jarrow

The school that I work at has a variety of accommodations for students with disablilities. Some are extra time to complete lab assignments and test. Some may have the exam read to them. We also have alot of freedom to adjust our lecture time and add visual aids and do hands on demonstrations to help student with special needs. This does not hinder or take away anything from the other students.

Bruce,
You re exactly right. Providing accommodations as needed for students with disabilities takes away nothing from the quality of educational offerings to every other student. It sounds like someone at your institution has a good grasp on what can and should be done. I hope you make the most of their expertise.

Dr. Jane Jarrow

I've had students in my class with accommodations, that have excelled more than students without accommodations!