Public
Activity Feed Discussions Blogs Bookmarks Files

Attention seeking behavior

I have a student that needed some additional one on one instruction and professional development. Shortly after she became very clingy and began to share very personal issues. What suggestions does anyone have? I suspected she needed therapy, but I am not a Doctor.

Hi Lisa,
When I encounter a student like this I immediately do a referral to the Student Services Office. This way I have another resource involved to make sure the student knows that my college is concerned about his/her welfare. The Student Services Office then can find the right kind of help that individual. This way I remain in a supportive role for the student and that individual can continue to come to class if able and wants to.
Gary

I have been put into this situation before as well. I am lucky enough to have a background in Cognitive Behavioral Coaching for adults geared toward correcting their thinking patterns regarding their perceptions so I was able to handle the situation quite easily without alienating the student. I have heard other instructors that have not been so lucky as I am. The most important factor, im my opinion, is that you have to realize the situation you have gotten into (eventhough you may ot have chosen to enter it), and professionally deal with it without alienating the student or losing your professionalism.

Should a student begin to give too much information or try to cross the personal/professional bounderies I tell them:

1)I empathize/sympathize with them/their situation. (so they know I am not simply blowing them off, people HATE others who try to "spin" them so as not to have to help)