Public
Activity Feed Discussions Blogs Bookmarks Files

Focus

Focus

Focus is an important part of an instructor. I've been teaching for 6 years but I started to pay special attention to material preparation for just about two years. Now I think the students learn quicker because lectures and hand outs are ready when I get to the classroom. I also pay close attention to the course syllabus that way I don't miss subjects at all.

Hi Daniel,
Your comments reinforce the principle of being prepared. There are enough things that come up in teaching that will need your attention, just think how things would be if you weren't prepared.
Keep up the good work.
Gary

I find that by focusing on creating new projects beforehand for the students, it seems to be more effective and exciting for them. I also focus on looking for new avenues to make the projects more efficient for them.

Hi Jorge,
There other thing I found as an instructor with creating new projects for my students is it helps me keep my excitement about the subject matter. I am always excited about introducing a new project so I can see how it will go. What will the students like about it, does it meet my objectives, where are the rough spots,etc.? Also, after using the new project once I know where I can add new materials and activities.
Gary