Public
Activity Feed Discussions Blogs Bookmarks Files

Backfiring Surprise...

Dr. Meers,

In numerous courses I have taught, I've restrained myself from using the element of surprise because of fear that it could backfire and completely cause the wrong effect.

As a computer support instructor, I would find it fitting that computer technicians in training would benefit from ocassionally being surprised. For instance, one time I planned a drill that would have a student perplexed, encountering a computer that is malfunctioning after it was working perfectly fine before the coffee break. I've done this drill a few times with mixed success. One time, the students were able to succesfully fix the problem... another, they proceeded erroneously and even caused irrepairable damage.

Yes, there was a learning experience, but I do not know to what extent it was positive or it was discouraging. After the incident I tried being supportive and debrief the students in order to ensure they understood what happenned... nevertheless, I had doubts as to whether reattempt to continue this approach.

Are there any suggestions, in your perspective, that can provide some insight into delivering a "safer" positive effect while using a high impact surprise?

Hi Carlos,
I think you are on the right track in using the surprise element. I know I have had good results with using such a format. The key is creating a situation that will engage all of the students and is one that they will become involved in. They have to want to be a part of solving the problem. I have used plane crashes, lost in the woods and stranded on an island type of surprises to get my students to problem solve. The activity has to be exciting yet achieveable.