Public
Activity Feed Discussions Blogs Bookmarks Files

Seating, Music and Aroma In The Classroom

I love the ideas for seating arrangements, the togetherness feeling is welcoming for our school because we enter new students with previous students. Music can bring attention to long dry information such as legal issues. Aroma is a great idea, I will try cinnamon to encourage and orange to calm this term.

Hi Joan!

So - what we are saying is that when all sense are engaged, learning becomes more optimal.

I haven't tried aroma - other than having a "plug in" in the room just to freshen it up. But I plan to do something a little different.

Good job and keep up the good work!

Jane Davis
ED107 Facilitator

Hi,
Aromatics could be very interesting. I am a chef
while it could be very interesting but also distracting. The aromas can be very strong
Mark

First day of class i bake some cookies, it eases the tension of the room by being something familiar.

Then they get to eat them on the way out which gives them a good feeling and makes them look forward to our next day

I agree some of our students and myself suffer from migraines so some smells can trigger this. but it is very interesting

I love the idea of seating arrangements as well & recently changed the layout of my classroom, got a great response from both my colleages & my students. Our school also allows new students to enter into classes with previously attending studentsch makes it a bit difficult at times. I did however notice that the new layout works great! Any other thoughts or suggestions?

Lastly, unfortunately becuase of the nature of the classroom (Lab) I am limited to what I am able to do do in regards to scents / aroma. I'd love the scent of cinnamon as opposed to the sterile scent of alcohol!

I agree seating, music and aroma in the classroom helps students to relax and not feel so stressed at times.

Hi Alyson!

Just another reminder about how much we need to know about our students!