Public
Activity Feed Discussions Blogs Bookmarks Files

Classroom Assesments

Since I am fairly new to the teaching profession I can always utilize new information to improve what students are "receiving" from my teaching methods.
I have used the minute paper idea in class and it seemed to work well. My students never feel shy about telling me when they are bored. lol.
I struggle with limitations of the facilities because much of industry cant be experienced in the environment of a school setting. It would be great to be able to give my students exposure to more machinery and manufacturing practices. I do use dvds and videos to show many things but it is not the same as doing it yourself. A combination of seeing and doing would be great. What does everyone else do in these cases?

Andrew LeRoy

Are you able to take your students on "field trips"? Do your programs include co-ops or internships? We work with the employers who regularly hire our grads to be able to offer the "real world" experiences. Guest speakers who might be able to come in and feature demonstrations is another idea.

Im not sure if this advice will help you or not, but what we do with our students is bring in professionals from the different areas to come into the classrooms and provide our students with real life experiences that will help them acquire knowledge from experience and make that connection between the content learned and field experience. We also arrange with organizations around us for our students to go and experience as well as asking questions to the people who are performing the job in their area.

Absolutely Ricardo - the more contact that students get with those working in the field they are studying the better!