Public
Activity Feed Discussions Blogs Bookmarks Files

4 hour lectures

What do recommend when teaching a 4 hr lecture? Mini lectures the best--really stopping every 15-20 minutes for a break?

Darla,
Do a mini-lecture and then a different activity. It doesn't have to be a break it can be a Q&A session, case study, discussion, etc.. Anything that lets the students refocus for a few minutes before you go back to the lecture format.
Gary

Gary Meers, Ed.D.

I am a new instructor but I have found what works for me is when I see that I am losing some of the students I will veer off course, tell some of my field experiences and then once I have them back I can roll right back into the lesson. seems to work so far.

Harlan,
Stories from the field do capture the attention of students as you mention. In addition, they reinforce the value of the content being taught because you are showing your students application and relevancy when you share an experience from your past.
Gary

Gary Meers, Ed.D.

We use nearly four-hour blocks at my school and the classes can easily wear out the students, particularly at the end of the block (six-week).

What helps me keep the students motivated and interested in the subject matter is to engage them in in-class activities, either individually or in small groups, so that the class is constantly doing something other than sitting at long tables and listening to me or looking at my PP presentation.