Public
Activity Feed Discussions Blogs Bookmarks Files

Creativity in the classroom

After taking this module I was pleasantly surprised that I have made a lesson plan that incorporates a lot of the components needed to have a successful class. I am teaching a meditation course this weekend and I have formed lecture notes to discuss walking meditation and purchased a video that is 30 min. on labyrinths and found a labyrinth at a nearby church for a field trip. I think it is going to be a lot of fun. It certainly covers the basis for the students to have a clear understanding of the components of what is entailed in a laybrinth meditation and the exciting part is they get to participate in Doing!!!

I feel that these ideas help in making an effective presentation. I'm new to career school with 3 hour class periods. Using creative concepts presented in this course will definately help me with my teaching practices. I had know idea the average attention span was so short. A 3 hr lesson must utilize varous techniques to keep the student focused...and hopefully learning will occur.

Sounds excellent! I try to implement creative techniques in my classroom as well, and the students are absolutely more receptive to trying new things.

I teach medical assisting from 7:30 am until 4:00 pm. Sometimes I take the students outside to lecture for a change of scenery, if nothing else. Many days we ad lib check-off competencies. I have to constantly come up with creative ways to enhance the learning environment. My next venture will incorporate a medical cd made the students. It will include their resume, a label and perhaps some video snips if time permits.

I too teach medical assisting and believe whole-heartedly in creative expression.

A regular course outline can sometimes become very monotonous if it is only book work, reading, quizzes and test.