Public
Activity Feed Discussions Blogs Bookmarks Files

Discipline Challenged students!

I have been teaching for 5 years. I have the reputation of being tough, demanding and fair, and my students love me. Once in a while I have students that I absolutly cannot reach. They arrive late (which of course disrupt the class), have no personal discipline, and constantly disrupt the class with their talking. I tried talking to them outside of class but it does not work. The only recourse I have is to ask them to leave the class and go talk to the director so that the rest of the class can learn. The other students appreciate their leaving, the director supports me as it seems that my class is not the only class these students disrupt but I feel guilty. I would appreciate any ideas on how to reach these discipline challenged students.
Thank you

Hi Anne-Patricia,
You are doing the right thing by removing those students that disrupt the learning of others. All instructors want all of their students to succeed but as we know in real life this is not going to always be true. In terms of reaching those students that lack in discipline I don't have a collective answer but an individual one. I try and approach such a student and try to find some key to unlocking their situation. In some cases I am able to find something that will get them involved in learning and in others cases I cannot get through to them. It saddens me that I am not able to reach them all but such is life. I will say each failure to reach situation teaches me even more about how I will approach the next student and try to get them involved in a life change that will help them with career success.
Gary

I would begin by examine his or her weakness that pertains to the course material, and continue to ask direct questions to establish a baseline. I would then offer directions, and soon enough, these challenged students will settle down.

Hi Robin,