Public
Activity Feed Discussions Blogs Bookmarks Files

Making the Syllabus simple

As a student myself I find that when the syllabus is a bit wordy I'm reluctant to read it, I sometimes procrastinate. Is it ok to make the syllabus simple and to the point?

Mary,
Yes it is. By making the syllabus clear and concise you are making it more readable for your students. So go ahead and do the condensed version to get your message across.
Gary

Gary Meers, Ed.D.

I agree. Keeping it simple wont make it as intimidating.

In addition to develop a simple syllabus, I think that sense of humor, in a respectful manner, also helps students to not only keep going back to the syllabus but to talk about it.

Hugo,
I agree. Humor is an integral part of the instructional delivery process because it helps students to reset their thought processes via a shared laugh or a light moment.
Gary

Gary Meers, Ed.D.

I have found humor in a syllabus to be detrimental to it's goal. Because I treated it lightly, the students also do so. Have you found this to be the case?

Thomas,
This is a good point about the use of humor. I use humor in my classes but not in official communication with students such as the syllabus so they can see the value of what is being shared and why they need to consider it seriously.
Gary

Gary Meers, Ed.D.

Yes, humor is great. It is always a good "ice breaker"

I feel like in the last 18 years since i began teaching the syllabus which used to be simple has become almost a look a like of a lawyers' contract or document with many addendums and disclaimers all of these required by the administration how do we get to keep this without looking like we are reading a lawyers document to the students.

Susana,