Public
Activity Feed Discussions Blogs Bookmarks Files

Reading from Texts

I am in my second semester as an instructor and read in the online course that reading from the text is not recommended. Is it better to have the students share in the reading? When I discuss my experiences as they relate to the lesson, everyone perks up and they get involved. Is there a better way to share the text other than memorizing?

Hi Joe,
Students really enjoy direct applications and hearing about real world situations. Keep on sharing these stories with your students. Just make sure that you stay focused with your examples, because students are great at getting instructors off course.
I try and use my text books as supports to the course content and when I have the students read them I give them structured outlines for them to follow. This way they stay zeroed in on the key points of the text. I have found that just reading the text quickly becomes boring for everyone.
Gary

i agree with you on boring students. taking breaks from texts with lots of examples helps break the tedium and reinforces entusiasm in the topic.

If possible i try to find a way for students to apply text book information into real world scenarios i.e. Text microphone placement i go over with my class, immediately following the reading, i have them setup a microphone and practice proper microphone placement. However this may not apply in all fields.

I must agree trying to put a real world spin on the textbook seems to keep the students attention. I always try to highlight certain areas that I want to make sure to cover in the textbook but yet try and relate it to my outside industrial experience. So far this seems to be working with great results as my students grades have improved, and they seem to be more willing to participate in the classroom discussions.

Hi Lee,
What you are doing is making "real world" applications to newly acquired knowledge. This is what career training is all about.
Gary