Public
Activity Feed Discussions Blogs Bookmarks Files

What do students call you?

As a new instructor, I find it hard getting used to being called by my last name. Sometimes, it just doesn't even register when I hear it. I'd prefer if they called me Ms. Annie (my first name) but is that professional enough? Is it overly friendly? Most other instructors at my campus use their last names or the first initial of their last name but there are a few who use their first names. Please share which way you prefer to be called and why.

Hi Annie,
When I first came here, I was fine with the students calling me Professor Judy, however, the culture here is to use the last names and even the students would say Professor Mohammed so that is what I use now. Some instructors (not here) allow studens to call them by their first names and I do not and that very professional.

Hi Annie, at my campus we go by Mr. Murdock or Mrs. Smith I was at a campus were first names were used and there was little respect shown to instructors or staff after 40 + years working in my field first names were what I had come to look for but as a instructor you need the respect for class control

I get your point,as a new instructor it is hard for me to get used to the last name thing as my last name is spelled Gubler, but pronounced Goobler, lots of interesting pronunciations. I just save them the trouble and ask that they call me Mr. G.

Hi Annie,
Since I am almost twice the age of my adult students, I give them the choice of Mr. Betteridge or Mr. "B".
In addition, when I address them, I also call them Mr or Miss, Mz, Mrs, etc.
Since I am in a technical field and our students leave here to enter the working field directly upon graduation, we stress heavily how to properly address others unless told different by the person being addressed.