Public
Activity Feed Discussions Blogs Bookmarks Files

Teaching students who have English as a second language

I am a instructor in a technical school. Many times students are enrolled who are very limited in reading and speaking English. I cannot hold the class back for them, but where is the line drawn between their needs and the rest of the class?

Hi E,
The line is based upon student progress. Can the students demonstrate adequate progress based upon course content and time lines? If not then some form of instructional support needs to be implemented for the limited English speakers.
There are a number of supports you can give these individuals to help them with their progress but they have to have the content and skills or your program will soon be gone.
Gary

I agree with you Dr. Meers. Hand on training demonstration is the best way for limited English speekers. Willing to help and support them that what they need from a teacher/ instructor. And that also show how is your knowleged, skills and how much you care for your program and your student.
Trang nguyen

I too have students with limited skills in reading and understanding the english language. Since I instruct international students I have found that it sometimes is the choice of words that I use. I am not suggesting that you talk down to your students, but to remember how it was to be a student knowing nothimg about the topic that was being taught. Teach the basic language of your skill, use more visual aids, and refer your skills set to something that they can relate to. This also means learning a bit about your students. This does take a little extra time in your day, but the results will surprise you. Be Patient!!!

Hi Ron,
Thank you for your comments about working with diverse learners. The working word of "patience" is a good one.
Gary

I like your answer,but alot people don't see it that way.