Public
Activity Feed Discussions Blogs Bookmarks Files

Maintaining Professionalism

I am currently an instructor at a technical school for audio engineering. Classes are small, hand on learning is our chosen method of teaching and students can vary in many aspects.

What are some of the best ways to keep students engaged during the entire class?

It seems as though the students get tired and start to talk amongst themselves towards the end.

Hi David,
How long are your classes? I have found that using mini-lectures and then activities help to keep students interest. Since I teach in the evenings, (4-10)I have tired students from their day jobs. As the evening wears on I decrease content delivery and increase activity. This way I keep the moving more as they wear down mentally.
Gary

I think the best way to keep the student engaged during the entire class time is to find the best method to keep them involed in the what you are duing.

Hi Viorel,
What are some of the ways that you use to keep students engaged during the entire class time?
Thanks for sharing.
Gary

I agree, I also teach night students and the class time is from 6:p.m. to 9:50 P.m. and it is hard to keep the students interested. You just have to plain accordingly. I feel that they enjoy the hands on more than lecture, so lecture a little and then do hands on and then lecture a little more, that kinda breaks up the bordom of the class. Shirley Cross

Hi Shirley,
I teach from 4 until 10 and I have to work hard to keep the students engaged. I really enjoy planning and creating unique ways of delivering course content to the night students. This is what makes teaching fun.
Gary

After teaching more than eight years, I figure it out that you should be master of your subject to control and teach the class.
Class of student, size of the class and lot of other factors are very important.
Thanks